XCAT – 2019 Fujairah Challenge Trophy

The opening event of the 2019 season was started in Fujairah, UAE. On Thursday the FIMC hosted time trials and a Gala Dinner with the main race on Friday morning won by the Dubai Police crew of Nadir Bin Hendi and Arif Saif Al-Zafeen.

Although there was plans to organize a race at Saudi Arabia, UIM officials was not able to finalize the contract for 2019. According to some information there is still some possibilities to organize a race at Yanbu either 2019 or 2020.

John Moore commented at Powerboat Racing News that “Eagle-eyed followers of the UIM XCAT World Series would have observed by now that the first 2 events scheduled on the calendar haven’t actually taken place.”

The opening event of the 2019 season was due to be held in Fujairah, UAE in February and the XCAT’s were due to be competing in Suadi Arabia this weekend.”

Over the last few months, I understand that the UIM have tried to secure a promoter for the series and one very big name was close to signing a contract, although a pen wasn’t put to paper.”

Due to the fact that the XCAT fleet and all equipment are based in the UAE, Fujairah International Marine Club (FIMC) have put on a ‘Challenge Trophy’ for 7 seven of the World Championship teams; Dubai Police, New Star, 222 Offshore, Kuwait, Videx, Pastamato and HPI.”

On the kickoff day of X-Cat 2019 season Dubai Police Boat won the first place with amazing drivers Arif Al-Zaffain and Nadir Bin Hendi.

Firstly, Sheik Ahmed Bin Hamad Bin Sife Al Sharqi presented the winners awards of the Fujairah Challenge trophy 2019. A brilliant second place went to Italian team 222 Offshore and Swedish team 22 – Videx won the 3rd place.

Meanwhile, Ahmed Ibrahim Alblooshi Vice President of the UAE Marine Sports Federation and Managing director of the FIMC along with Riccardo La Cognata UIM representative, X-Cat officials Sebastiano Pellecchia and Pasquale Sesana attended the prizes given as well.

Race Results
  1. Dubai Police (3)
  2. 222 Offshore (10)
  3. Videx (22)
  4. HPI (96)
  5. Pastamato (46)
  6. Kuwait (17)
  7. New Star (9)